There is an option to auto-prompt whenever you leave a record to which changes have been made.
This option can be found in Tools & Settings > Customization > Display Settings
This is a system wide setting so will affect all users and means that if a record is opened and any of the core record fields are changed then on attempting to close or leave the record without first saving those changes, the user will receive the following prompt:
Clicking Yes will continue the user's journey, and clicking No will return the user to the page where the changes can first be saved. Saving a record cancels the prompt for appearing again unless further changes are made.